History of the School

The Origins of Royal Cross Primary School – a look back in time


Royal Cross Primary School is Lancashire’s only school for deaf children – based in Preston but with pupils from across the county and neighbouring authorities.

Although the school has been maintained by LCC since 2001, its history goes back to the 19th century. Founded by Miss Mary Cross of Myerscough, the ‘Cross Deaf and Dumb School’ opened in 1894 at Brockholes Brow, Preston. The ‘Royal’ title was conferred by Queen Victoria during her Diamond Jubilee tour in 1897.


Mary Cross 

Founder of the School 




royal cross.jpg

Royal Cross School 

Brockholes Brow Preston

Additional departments were set up - for Juniors at Ribby Hall (in 1948) and Infants at Wilmar Lodge, Blackburn (in 1951) – but eventually in the mid 60’s, all age residential education was consolidated at Brockholes Brow and continued until 1990.

In 1989 the Mary Cross Trust amalgamated with a welfare association and developed services for deaf adults at the old school site – now known as Deafway. The school moved to its current location at Elswick Road, Ashton, Preston as a day primary school.

In 2001, the non-maintained school closed and was reopened by LCC as a community special school for primary aged deaf children.

Over the years the school has changed and adapted in response to the needs of pupils. Whilst proud of its history, more importantly, it is very proud of its present facilities and excellent quality of provision. Royal Cross Primary School, a small but vibrant school, is going from strength to strength in the 21st Century retaining ‘outstanding’ status in its recent OFSTED inspection.

 Royal Cross Primary School, Elswick Rd, Ashton, Preston

‘Communication is Key’